University News

College of Engineering Welcomes Students into Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society

Published: November 01, 2018 | Categories: Engineering
Alpha Lambda Delta Logo

The Western New England University Chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta welcomed 191 new members at the annual induction ceremony held on October 19 in Rivers Memorial Hall. Forty-one students from the College of Engineering were inducted. The mission of the Society is to encourage superior academic achievement, to promote intelligent living and a high standard of learning, and to assist students in recognizing and developing meaningful goals in society.

Alpha Lambda Delta recognizes the best and brightest members of the nation’s first-year college students. Students in Alpha Lambda Delta must have a grade point average of at least 3.5 after their first semester of full-time enrollment.

University President Anthony S. Caprio and Dean of the College of Engineering Dr. S. Hossein Cheraghi awarded the certificates after inductees recited the Alpha Lambda Delta pledge:

“I pledge myself to accept membership in Alpha Lambda Delta with the understanding that in doing so I accept the responsibility of maintaining its standards of Service, of Industry and of Integrity. I shall do all in my power to maintain high scholarship throughout my life and to use my education always, for the benefit of the Community, my Nation, and the World in which we live. In this spirit I accept the membership into Alpha Lambda Delta.”

Alpha Lambda Delta first-year honor society was founded in 1924 at the University of Illinois and has over 280 chapters in the United States.

The following students were inducted:

Spencer G. Bezerra
Daniel P. Buckson
Andrew N. Cohen
Jarrod A. Coletta
Jason K. Cook
Cameron A. Cox
Brett P. Dardzinski
Emilie M Decker
Joseph D. Denesha
Matthew J. Dumas
Haley P. Euvrard
Gabriel A. Fletcher
Trenton J. Gobel
Joseph A. Goodrich
Matthew A. Grozier
Heather M. Hassler
Nicholas J. Hoffmann
William M. Hroch
Megan A. James
Ryan M. Kahn
Tyler A. LaFreniere
Samantha D. Lewis
Sydney N. Lewis
Allison T. Lukas
Hannah O. Manolis
Austen P. Metsack
Brendan C. Meyers
Dalen F. Mochak
Nicholas S. Pantorno
Cole R. Peterson
Isabella V. Sandroni
Paul F. Santandrea
Rebecca C. Shannon
Rebecca P. Shust
Megan E. Sidur
Tyler M. Sinacola
Devon M. Teague
Christopher J. Westbrook
Joseph W. Wetzel
Brian M. Whinery
Drew P. Wiesel