University News

Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society Inducts New Members

Published: | Categories: All News
Group of new members

Group of new members

The Pi Sigma Alpha Political Science Honor Society inducted five students as new members of the society on Thursday April 28, during a dinner meeting at the Olive Garden Restaurant in Springfield.

The students included, (L-R above) Graduating seniors Michael Onofrio, Jake Picard, and Hailey Greenhalgh, junior Sean McCabe, and senior Patrick O’Brien.

Pi Sigma Alpha promotes and recognizes high academic achievement in the field of political science, was founded in 1920 at the University of Texas, and has grown to over 700 chapters nationwide. Each university chapter is guided by faculty advisors and student officers at colleges and universities that grant baccalaureate or post graduate degrees in political science.

The five students were inducted by their faculty advisors Dr. Peter Fairman, and Dr. Tim Vercellotti, who also is the Director of the  Western New England University Polling Institute.