University News

2019 Skookum Awards Recipients

Published: September 24, 2019 | Categories: All News, Alumni
compass pointing in the direction of the word Excellence

On September 22, 2019, Alumni Association Skookum Awards were presented to 15 students who have demonstrated excellence in academics, co-curricular activities, athletics, volunteer work, and community service.

The Skookum Award of Excellence was established in 1989 by the Western New England University Alumni Association as a way to recognize the outstanding achievements of students. The Skookum Award recognizes the commitment and dedicated service of Western New England University students throughout their college career by their demonstrated leadership roles on campus, community service/volunteer experiences, and participation in athletics and cocurricular programs. The word Skookum means excellence in the Chinook Indian culture. This annual award process takes place each spring semester to prepare for the Skookum Awards brunch the following fall.

Pictured above are (L-R bottom row): Laura Cafaro, Kaytlin Nelson, Eve Carciofi, Julia Garvey, Lyubov Kodreanu. Middle row: Dimitrios Tartsinis, Laura Sawyer, Erin Butts, Sarah Waterhouse, Emily McGuinness, Tyler Brault. (L-R top row): Donna Montgomery, Sarah O’Hazo, President Anthony S. Caprio, Kimberly Pocwierz, Madison Pezze.

Read full biographies of the award recipients.
View photos from the ceremony.