University News

Western New England Inducts 58 Student-Athletes into Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society

Published: May 06, 2024 | Categories: Arts and Sciences, Business, All News, Engineering
Western New England University welcomed the new Chi Alpha Sigma 2024 Inductees at their annual ceremony on May 2nd.

Western New England University and the WNE athletic department inducted 58 student-athletes from across 17 sports into the Chi Alpha Sigma National Honor Society on Thursday, May 2.

The Chi Alpha Sigma event recognizes college student-athletes that are significant contributors to their team, both on and off the field, displaying leadership qualities while maintaining a 3.4-grade point average or higher through their senior year. Candidates must have been endorsed by their respective head coach and must be of good moral character. The 58 candidates inducted into the National Honor Society this year were among the biggest class ever inducted for the Golden Bears, dating back to 2008.

This year's inductees included:

Baseball: Aaron Cole and David Vignapiano

Softball: Madison Mason, Emilia Garcia, Taylor Keegan, and Elizabeth Weston

Men's Basketball: Brian Geitner and Timothy Restall

Men's Cross Country: Emily Kowal, Davis Farrow, and Keara Mooney

Women's Cross Country: John Falco

Field Hockey: Emma Karamian

Football: Jason Shumilla, Dillon Kohl, Tyler Millerick, Thomas Gasbarro, Michael Heavey, and Jacob Dauphinee

Men's Ice Hockey: Kyle Knight, Peter White, Anthony Aureliano, Lukas Radina, Matthew Dougherty, Joshua Bliss, William Hefferle, and Jacob Mendeszoon

Women's Ice Hockey: Alyssa Murphy, Emma McGuane, Madison Tucker, and Julia Roman

Men's Lacrosse: John Oliver, Joseph Contino, James Wrynn, Liam Miller, Trevor Relyea, and Andrew Huta

Women's Lacrosse: Allyson Ferraro, Faith Graveline, and Emmy Burns

Men's Soccer: Jonathan Clough and Anthony Quiterio

Women's Soccer: Maria Butrimas, Carina Joslin, Ashley Collins, Isabella Montalvo, Abigail Free, and Julia Frappier

Women's Swimming: Megan Morrissey

Women's Tennis: Daniela Martinez-Duran

Women's Volleyball: Rebecca Mayer, Isabella Procida, and Zoe Bozzay

Men's Wrestling: Colby Reilly, Nicholas Faraci, Colsten Volpe, and Samuel Dow