Jump to Footer

Department of Mathematics

The Department of Mathematics is a vibrant, student-centered community of 15 full-time faculty members who greatly enjoy teaching, doing research, and engaging in professional development. The department oversees four degree programs. At the undergraduate level, we offer a Bachelor of Science in Mathematical Sciences, a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematical Sciences, and a Bachelor of Science in Actuarial Science. At the graduate level, we offer a Master of Arts in Mathematics for Teachers.

As a department, we are distinguished by our recognized success in teaching. Collectively, we have won four of the 26 university-wide Excellence in Teaching Awards awarded to date, and some other members have won similar awards at their previous institutions. In addition, our calculus program recently received national recognition as part of an NSF-funded study entitled “Characteristics of Successful Programs in College Calculus.”  

Faculty members in the Department of Mathematics have active research programs in a number of areas including number theory, partial differential equations, algebraic geometry, mathematics of origami, statistics, and actuarial science. They publish in peer-reviewed journals, regularly attend conferences, seminars, and workshops, and are active in a variety of professional organizations including the Mathematical Association of America (MAA), American Mathematical Society (AMS), the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM), and the Society of Actuaries (SOA).