University News

University Inducts 35 Business Students into Beta Gamma Sigma National Honor Society

Published: April 16, 2020 | Categories: Business, All News
Beta Gamma Signma emblem in gold

Dr. Sharianne Walker, Dean of the College of Business, announced that the Western New England University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, the honor society of AACSB-accredited business schools worldwide, inducted 35 students this spring into this prestigious organization. Eligible sophomores, juniors, and seniors comprise the top 10% of their respective classes and eligible graduate students are among the top 20% of their respective graduate programs. Beta Gamma Sigma represents "the best in business" and members reside in all 50 states and in more than 190 countries.

While the traditional induction ceremony scheduled for April 16, 2020, was cancelled this year due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, Dean Walker said it is important that "these deserving students who worked hard to achieve this distinction be celebrated" especially during these difficult times. Congratulations letters notifying students of their induction and lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma were sent to the student. Interim Provost Dr. Curt Hamakawa, director of the Business Honors Program and faculty advisor to the Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter at Western New England, joined Dean Walker in congratulating the students, adding that new members' certificates, pins, and medallions will be mailed to them later this spring.

Members of the 2020 induction class include:
Charlie Argyle, senior
Joseph Bailey, sophomore
Sarah Bartlett, junior
Michael Benjamin, junior
Nicole Bourgeois, sophomore
Lyndsey Brennan, sophomore
Christine Byrne, master’s in Accounting
Jamie Cookingham, sophomore
Rory Cooper, sophomore
Gian Costantiello, junior
Andrew Crean, sophomore
John D’Aniello, sophomore
Jacob Dino, sophomore
Connor Frey, sophomore
Trevor Gustavson, junior
Abby Jamros, sophomore
David Kasper, sophomore
Brian Keating, junior
William LaFosse, sophomore
Heather Loke, MBA
Adam Maldonado, sophomore
Jeremy Obrecht, junior
Danielle Orr, sophomore
Chad Parent, senior
Michael Poggi, MBA
Michelle Proulx, master’s in Sport Leadership & Coaching
Benjamin Ranicar, sophomore
August Roberge, sophomore
Irankunda Roza, sophomore
Tiffany Santilli, MBA
Kyle Skerry, sophomore
Heather Stewkesbury, MBA
Thomas Thayer, sophomore
Bryce Thompson, sophomore
Benjamin Wosky, senior