University News

Western New England University Inducts 27 Business Students into Beta Gamma Sigma National Honor Society

Published: May 05, 2022 | Categories: All News, Business
BGS induction ceremony

Dr. Sharianne Walker, Dean of the College of Business, announced that the Western New England University chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), the honor society of AACSB-accredited business schools worldwide, inducted 27 students this spring into this prestigious organization. The 18th annual induction ceremony was held on April 28 in Rivers Memorial Hall on the University campus.

Eligible sophomores, juniors, and seniors comprise the top 10% of their respective classes and eligible graduate students are among the top 20% of their respective graduate programs. Beta Gamma Sigma represents "the best in business" and members reside in all 50 states and in more than 190 countries.

"We are so proud of this year's inductee class," said College of Business Dean Sharianne Walker. "Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is reserved for only the best of the best business students and scholars around the world. This evening's induction represents such a unique and impressive distinction for our college and our students."

The University chapter began inducting students in spring the 2005, and will now total over 500 members. Beta Gamma Sigma lifetime membership is an international honor, inviting students who have achieved ranking at the top of their class at schools accredited by AACSB International—The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. The mission is to encourage and honor academic achievement in the study of business, to foster personal and professional excellence, to advance the values of the Society, and to serve its lifelong members.

Western New England University President Dr. Robert E. Johnson delivered the keynote address and was inducted as an honorary member for his support of business students and the BGS chapter. His honorary membership into the honor society for AACSB-accredited business schools was presented by Dr. Walker and BGS chapter President and Accounting senior Danielle Orr.

"President Johnson's nomination and induction into Beta Gamma Sigma represents acknowledgement of a lifetime and widely recognized commitment to advocacy and support for business students and faculty, and his unceasing efforts to support innovation, entrepreneurship, and business leadership," added Walker. "His influence on the national, regional, and state levels are powerful and his commitment to business excellence is renown. For us in the College of Business, it is here in our community that we truly appreciate his inspiration and leadership which has lasting and generational effect. In his work, his professionalism, and in his service, he exemplifies the guiding principles of Beta Gamma Sigma."

The following students were inducted:
Bachelor of Science in Business Administration Students
Tabarek Al-Kowami – Business Analytics & Information Management
Zoe Bozzay – Business Analytics & Information Management
Brendan Couzens – Exploratory Business
Franz Dolegeal - Accounting
Julia Ferrentino - Accounting
Naomi Golasinski - Accounting
Owen Harding – Sport Management
Logan Los – General Business
Tram Lu – Business Analytics & Information Management
Tucker Mazzulli – Exploratory Business
Alexandria Morris - Accounting
Richardson Oise - Accounting
John Oliver - Finance
Sofia Plaku - Marketing
Lucas Rosati – Business Analytics & Information Management
Aditya Shah – Business Analytics & Information Management
Courtney Shea – Management & Leadership
Jason Shumilla - Finance
Carlie Smith – Accounting
Noah Welti – Management & Leadership

Master of Business Administration Students
Nicholas Diorio
Sarah Diresta
Alexander Lepage
Emily Sarkisian

Master of Science in Accounting Students
Limor Ben-Tovim

Master of Science in Organizational Leadership Students
Alyra Donisvitch
Sabrina Serra