University News

3 GB Named to IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

Published: August 23, 2022 | Categories: All News
WNE 2022 Women's Lax team

Three Golden Bear athletes were recently named to the 2022 Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association  (IWLCA) Division III Academic Honor Roll. Emily Lake (Naples, ME), Liz Mazza (East Longmeadow, MA), and Reilly Miller (Goshen, NY) selected the group of 1,099 athletes. To be eligible for this honor, student-athletes must be either a junior, senior, or graduate student in the classroom, and have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or greater.

Junior Emily Lake placed on the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll list for the first time in her career. Lake appeared in nine games during the season for Western New England making 25 saves, including a career high six saves in a 17-4 win over Curry College.

Senior Liz Mazza picks up her second straight honor from the IWLCA, having been named to the Academic Honor Roll in 2021. Mazza recorded 51 points on the field in 2022, competing in 17 games. The East Longmeadow, Massachusetts native netted 35 goals while picking up 16 assists on the year. Mazza led Western New England with 16 free position goals while being third on the team in shots with 84.

Graduate student Reilly Miller also collects honors for her second time, being named to both the 2021 and 2022 IWLCA Academic Honor Roll. Miller competed in all 19 games this season for the Golden Bears, leading WNE with 42 goals on the year while accumulating 56 total points. The Goshen, New York native led Western New England with 89 shots during the season while also leading the team in shots on goal with 70.

The IWLCA also announced their 2022 Academic Honor Squads, which compiles schools across NCAA Division I, II, III, and NAIA. This season, 326 schools across all division earned academic honor squads recognition. To qualify for this prestigious honor, the women's lacrosse team must have posted a 3.2 or higher team GPA for the academic year. The Golden Bears were one of five schools from the Commonwealth Coast Conference to earn honors.